August 13, 2018 Blog

27 Nakshatras in Astrology.


By: Megha

Astrology is an extensive discipline of ancient knowledge and wisdom. As such; astrology isn’t as simple as making predictions for the future solely based on 12 Zodiac signs and your birth month. According to astrology; the stars, the sun, and the moon have a divine influence on an individuals future and behaviors and personality. As such; it is important to extend our knowledge of astrology beyond the Zodiac signs and gain some in-depth insight into the Nakshatras or constellations of which there are 27 different variations of 13.2 degrees each. Read further to know more. Read further to know more.

The 27 Nakshatras

According to their qualities; the nakshatras are neatly categorized under various labels. The differing categories for the nakshatras are…

  • Fixed/Sthira
  • Movable/Chara
  • Fierce/Ugra
  • Swift/Kshipra
  • Tender/Mridu
  • Sharp/Tikshna
  • Mixed/Misra

Based on these various qualities that determine the category each of the 27 nakshatras fit into; it is easy to see how the Nakshatras can determine our personality, behaviors and the future. Let’s delve deeper into the 27 Nakshatras…

  1. Ashwini Nakshatra

Location: 0.00 Aries to 13.20 Aries

Ruler: Ketu

Symbol: Horse's head

Deity: Ashwini Kumar

Varna: Merchant

Alphabets: Chu, Che, Cho, La

  1. Bharani Nakshatra

Location: 13.20 Aries to 26.40 Aries

Ruler: Venus

Symbol: Yoni

Deity: Yama

Varna: Outcast

Alphabets: Lee, Lu, Lay, Lo

  1. Krittika Nakshatra

Location: 26.40 Aries to 10.00 Taurus

Ruler: Sun

Symbol: Razor

Deity: Agni

Varna: Priest

Alphabets: Aa, Ee, Oo, Ay

  1. Rohini Nakshatra

Location: 10.00 Taurus to 23.20 Taurus

Ruler: Moon

Symbol: Chariot

Deity: Brahma

Varna: Labourer

Alphabets: O, Va, Vi, Vu

  1. Mrigashira Nakshatra

Location: 23.20 Taurus to 6.40 Gemini

Ruler: Mars

Symbol: Deer's head

Deity: Chandra

Varna: Servant

Alphabets: Ve, Vo, Ka, Kee

  1. Ardra Nakshatra

Location: 6.40 Gemini to 20.00 Gemini

Ruler: Rahu

Symbol: Tear Drop

Deity: Rudra

Varna: Butcher

Alphabets: Ku, Ghaa, Kha, Cha

  1. Punarvasu Nakshatra

Location: 20.00 Gemini to 3.20 Cancer

Ruler: Jupiter

Symbol: Quiver

Deity: Aditi

Varna: Merchant

Alphabets: Kay, Ko, Ha, Hee

  1. Pushya Nakshatra

Location: 3.20 Cancer to 16.40 Cancer

Ruler: Saturn

Symbol: Udder

Deity: Brihaspati

Varna: Warrior

Alphabets: Hoo, He, Ho, Dah

  1. Ashlesha Nakshatra

Location: 16.40 Cancer to 30.00 Cancer

Ruler: Mercury

Symbol: Serpent

Deity: Nag

Varna: Outcast

Alphabets: Dee, Doo, Day, Doh

  1. Magha Nakshatra

Location: 0.00 Leo to 13.20 Leo

Ruler: Ketu

Symbol: Throne

Deity: Pitras

Varna: Labourer

Alphabets: Ma, Mi, Mu, Me

  1. Purva Phalguni Nakshatra

Location: 13.20 Leo to 26.40 Leo

Ruler: Venus

Symbol: Hammock

Deity: Bhaga

Varna: Priest

Alphabets: Mo, Ta, Tee, Too

  1. Uttara Phalguni Nakshatra

Location: 26.40 Leo to 10.00 Virgo

Ruler: Sun

Symbol: Fig tree

Deity: Aryaman

Varna: Warrior

Alphabets: Tay, To, Pa, Pee

  1. Hasta Nakshatra

Location: 10.00 Virgo to 23.20 Virgo

Ruler: Moon

Symbol: Hand

Deity: Surya

Varna: Merchant

Alphabets: Pu, Sha, Nu, Tha

  1. Chitra Nakshatra

Location: 23.20 Virgo to 6.40 Libra

Ruler: Mars

Symbol: Jewel

Deity: Vishvakarma

Varna: Servant

Alphabets: Pe, Po, Ra, Re

  1. Swati Nakshatra

Location: 6.40 Libra to 20.00 Libra

Ruler: Rahu

Symbol: Coral

Deity: Vaayu

Varna: Butcher

Alphabets: Ru, Re, Ro, Ta

  1. Vishakha Nakshatra

Location: 20.00 Libra to 3.20 Scorpio

Ruler: Jupiter

Symbol: Arch

Deity: Indra

Varna: Outcast

Alphabets: Ti, Tu, Te, To

  1. Anuradha Nakshatra

Location: 3.20 Scorpio to 16.00 Scorpio

Ruler: Saturn

Symbol: Lotus

Deity: Mitra

Varna: Labourer

Alphabets: Na, Ni, Nu, Nay

  1. Jyestha Nakshatra

Location: 16.40 Scorpio to 30.00 Scorpio

Ruler: Mercury

Symbol: Amulet

Deity: Indra

Varna: Servant

Alphabets: No, Ya, Yi, Yu

  1. Mula Nakshatra

Location: 0.00 to 13.20 Sagittarius

Ruler: Ketu

Symbol: Roots

Deity: Nirriti

Varna: Butcher

Alphabets: Ye, Yo, Bha, Bhe

  1. Purva Ashadha Nakshatra

Location: 13.20 to 26.40 Sagittarius

Ruler: Venus

Symbol: A fan

Deity: Varuna

Varna: Priest

Alphabets: Bu, Dah, Bha, Dha

  1. Uttara Ashadha Nakshatra

Location: 26.40 Sagittarius to 10 Capricorn

Ruler: Sun

Symbol: Tusk

Deity: Vishvadevas

Varna: Warrior

Alphabets: Be, Bo, Ja. Ji

  1. Shravana Nakshatra

Location: 10 Capricorn to 23.20 Capricorn

Ruler: Moon

Symbol: An Ear

Deity: Vishnu

Varna: Outcast

Alphabets: Ju, Je, Jo, Gha

  1. Dhanishta Nakshatra

Location: 23.20 Capricorn to 6.40 Aquarius

Ruler: Mars

Symbol: Drum

Deity: Vasus

Varna: Servant

Alphabets: Ga, Gi, Gu, Ge

  1. Shatabhisha Nakshatra

Location: 6.40 Aquarius to 20.00 Aquarius

Ruler: Rahu

Symbol: 1000 stars

Deity: Varuna

Varna: Butcher

Alphabets: Go, Sa, Si, Su

  1. Purva Bhadra Nakshatra

Location: 20.00 Aquarius to 3.20 Pisces

Ruler: Jupiter

Symbol: Funeral cot

Deity: Ajaikapada

Varna: Priest

Alphabets: Se, So, De, Di

  1. Uttara Bhadra Nakshatra

Location: 03.20 Pisces to 16.40 Pisces

Ruler: Saturn

Symbol: Water snake

Deity: Ahirbudhnya

Varna: Warrior

Alphabets: Du, Tha, Jha, Na

  1. Revati Nakshatra

Location: 16.40 Pisces to 30.00 Pisces

Ruler: Mercury

Symbol: A fish

Deity: Pushan

Varna: Labourer

Alphabets: De, Tho, Cha, Chi

Significance and Meaning Attached to the Nakshatras

There is much significance and meaning attached to the Nakshatras and its many facets. The ruler of each nakshatra is the nakshatra lord that determines the results of any endeavour. The ruler of each nakshatra grants special powers and qualities and the various deities of the various nakshatras need to be worshipped for various results in various endeavours. A qualified astrologist is the best person to help you thoroughly decoded the nakshatras and harness their powers in your life.